Time to catch my breath… and a small thank you

It’s been a while coming has this blog entry – the wind kind of went out of my sails a bit – the way it sometimes does – but all is not lost because…

A trip to Cornwall with friends, also a while coming, was joyful and rejuvenating and so here I sit, at my kitchen table with peppermint and licorice tea just a few weeks later to invite you to share a few wonderings and ponderings as well as a pattern for a beanie/hat.

Tea

Cornwall… it’s where we spent every childhood summer (when we weren’t visiting family in Denmark) from the age of about 7 or 8.  I remember the sense of freedom I had in being allowed to explore rock-pools without adult interference, play hide and seek with new-found friends in the higgledy-piggledy streets of Port Isaac – many decades before Doc Martin invaded and visitor numbers rocketed – and swimming with my father and my little sister in the giant pools of icy-cold sea water in Pine Haven as the tide came in.

I inflicted the place on my own children when they were small too, funny how much more the rain between scarce days of glorious sunshine irritated in adulthood in a way that they never did with my child’s gaze on the world.

Trebarwith Strand

This time we journeyed down outside of school holidays and were rewarded with an hour less driving time (6 hours instead of 7),  quiet beaches – with only dog-walkers and their companions ambling along the water’s edge,  and parking always possible – even at Rock!  Can you believe that the sun shone EVERY DAY?

We ate pasties, drank wine, had cream teas and I gave myself permission to crochet or knit… a lot – it really was a perfect week away from the busy busy of city life and in the company of much loved friends.

In the tiny harbour at Port Quinn my other-half found treasures.  Objects of beauty that he gradually came to understand were gifts for the fortunate finder. Nothing fills the heart with thanks as much as a beautiful gift so thank you so much for a full heart @whitstapebble… (we took just one pebble, to have taken two would have felt excessive)

And @kentbeachart…

@kentbeachart

Your works have found happy places to rest.

The small thank you of my blog title is more accurately a case of paying back and I hope that the gifts I have made in return will land happily in their new home in Whitstable.

This Picots and Petals Mandala for @whitstapebble  (designed by Wink – who is so missed…)

Mandala

And this beanie for @kentbeachart.  Designed by me and inspired by the fabulous hats in Wes Anderson’s film ‘The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou’ – I have called the beanie ‘Zissou Hat’ and it’s available for download free HERE.  I do hope that @kentbeachart does not despise burnt orange…

zissou

Thanks to you for stopping by

Happy Days

Tina x

 

Leave a Reply

